Middle East's only Mind, Body & Spirit Magazine

+971 4 453 8874

July 10, 2017
By Yogalife

Understanding Reiki

A lot more people are opening to the idea of energy healing and wondering what type of energy healing they should try when there are so many out there, says Gabby Melissa. Here, she explains Reiki and its healing properties.

Reiki is a Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation that also promotes healing and is based on the concept that an unseen “life force energy” flows through us and is what causes us to be alive. If one’s “life force energy” is low, then we are more likely to get sick or feel stress, and if it is high, we are more capable of being happy and healthy.

Reiki originates from the Japanese words Rei (Universal life) and Ki (Energy). It is energy work that is done with laying on of hands and using the universal energy to do healing by balancing of the Chakras.

Crystals have since long been attributed to having intense healing properties. Healing with crystals is executed through energy. Crystals are used to remove toxins from the body, eliminating negativity and magnifying positive energy and when used during Reiki healing, they will help the healing and energy balancing.

The Sanskrit word Chakra translates to “spinning wheel of energy”. In yogameditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. Each chakra is responsible for the balance or disease in specific areas of our lives.

The Seven Major Chakras:

Root Chakra (Muladhara/Physical Body) Colour – Red: The first major chakra is located at the end of the spine. The Chakra that connects you to the basis of human existence in the physical world. It is the center that roots the subtle divine consciousness in the material world. If this is blocked you will have a human that is rootless in the spiritual and physical world.

Perspective: Self-preservation, Separate sense of self, Animal instinct (fight or flight)

Task: To be fully in the body

Signs of balance: Good health, Vitality, Comfortable in body, Sense of trust in the world, Ability to relax and be still, Right livelihood

Signs of imbalance: Disconnect from body, Fearful, Anxious, Restless, Financial difficulty, Chronic disorganization, Material fixation, Fear of change, Overeating, Rigid boundaries

Crystals: Red Jasper, Black Tourmaline, Black Obsidian, Hematite

Sacral Chakra (Svadishthana/Etheric Body) Colour – Orange: The second major chakra is located in the lower abdomen, just below the navel. The Chakra controls our energetic states. The Sacral Chakra is vital for our well-being and vitality and is associated with abundance, pleasure, and creativity. It is responsible for prosperity, desire, sexuality and acceleration of the healing process.

Perspective: Emotional Self, Sexuality

Task: To enjoy life

Signs of balance: Ability to experience pleasure, Nurturing of self and others, Ability to change, Healthy boundaries, Emotional Intelligence

Signs of imbalance: Poor social skills, Denial of pleasure, Excessive boundaries, Lack of desire, passion and excitement, Ruled by emotions, Poor boundaries, Obsessive attachment, Pleasure addiction

Crystals: Carnelian, Orange Calcite, Citrine

Solar Plexus (Manipura/Astral Body) Colour – Yellow: The third major chakra is located in the abdomen, below the diaphragm. This Chakra is connected to the astral body. The Solar Plexus controls our emotional state and emotions are directly linked with our sense of well-being and health. Governs personal power, self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem, decision-making, metabolic energy and insight.

Perspective: Self-definition, Principles, What you stand for

Task: To learn to choose wisely

Signs of balance: Responsible, Balanced and effective will, Good self-esteem, Confidence, Balanced ego-strength, Able to meet challenges

Signs of imbalance: Low energy, Weak will, Poor self-discipline and follow-through, Passive, Poor digestion, Overly aggressive, Dominating, Controlling, Arrogant, Hyperactive, Manipulative, Power-hungry, Deceitful

Crystals: Yellow Calcite, Citrine, Amber

Heart Chakra (Anahata/Mental Body) Colour – Green/Pink: The fourth major chakra is located in the chest. This Chakra is connected to the mental body. It is beginning to the higher consciousness and spirit and keeps the balance between the 3 lower and 3 upper chakras. Helps in the mastery of languages and spirit.

Perspective: Self-acceptance, Compassion

Task: To have an open, joyful heart to all

Signs of Balance: Loving, Empathic, Altruistic, Peaceful, Balanced, Good immune system

Signs of imbalance: Antisocial, Withdrawn, Cold, Loneliness, Isolation, Depression, Narcissism, Fear of intimacy, Codependency, Poor boundaries, Demanding, Jealousy, Overly sacrificing, Clinging

Crystals: Rose Quartz, Green Aventurine, Jade

Throat Chakra (Visuddha/Spiritual Body) Colour – Blue: The fifth major chakra is located on the thyroid level of the throat. This Chakra connects to the karmic body. With that brings knowledge, creativity, communication ability, purity, calmness, and mastery of the individual’s entire self. This enables the individual to show his/her inner self to the outer world.

Perspective: Self-expression, Unique world view beyond culturing conditioning

Task: To be authentic. To speak your honest truth.

Signs of balance: Resonant voice, Good listener, Good sense of timing & rhythm, Clear communication, Lives creatively

Signs of imbalance: Fear of speaking, Difficulty finding the right words, Poor rhythm, Too much talking, Poor auditory comprehension, Gossiping, Interrupting

Crystals: Blue Lace Agate, Turquoise, Aquamarine

Third Eye (Ajna/Cosmic Body) Colour – Indigo: The sixth major chakra is located the second cervical vertebra (on the neck) and on the forehead between the eyebrows (on the front). The forehead location is called The Third Eye and is connected to the intuitive body.

Perspective: Self-reflection, Intuition, Imagination

Task: To be an inspiration to others

Signs of balance: Intuitive, Perceptive, Imaginative, Good memory, Able to visualize, Able to think symbolically

Signs of imbalance: Lack of imagination, Clinging to the idea of what’s right, Insensitivity, Delusions, Obsessions, Difficulty concentrating, Nightmares

Crystals: Lapis Lazuli, Sodalite, Sugilite

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara/Divine Body) Colour – Violet/White/Gold: The seventh major chakra is located on the top of the head. It is linked to the Absolute body, the conclusion of the development of all seven subtle bodies of a cosmic organism.

Perspective: Self-knowledge, Spirituality

Task: To connect with divine intent. To experience everything as spiritual.

Signs of balance: Intelligent, Thoughtful, Aware, Open-minded, Able to question spirituality, connected wisdom & mastery, Broad understanding

Signs of imbalance: Spiritual cynicism, Learning difficulties, Apathy, Rigid belief system, Spiritual addiction, Dissociation from body, Confusion

Crystals: Amethyst, Clear Quartz


Gabby Melissa is a Reiki Master, Crystal Healer, Intuitive Angel & Tarot card reader, a bit of a yoga newbie and makes holistic skin care products.




The Serpent Healer

UK based Kundalini Yoga Teacher, Kwali Kumara, opens up about…

Heal - February 1, 2018

Art of Breathing

Breathing properly can have a hugely transformative effect on the…

Heal - November 6, 2017